SMC Students' Union

With a view to dedicate itself for the welfare of the students on a variety of issues like education, career, living, recreation and any other sort of emergent situation, the Silchar Medical College Students Union was formed. By an election which is held every year, the General Body Members of the Union elect an Executive Committee to serve for the interests of the students.

Executive Committee

President Sri Subhasish Deb
Vice-President Sri Abhijit Saikia
General Secretary Sri Amin A Islam
Asstt. General Secretary Sri Tapan Swargiary
TreasurerSri Biswarup Talukdar
Secretary, Cultural AffairsSri Lachit Kalita
Secretary, Social ServicesSri Atikur Rahman
Secretary, Games & SportsSri N.Gouridas Singha
Secretary, Common RoomSri Lewith K.Marak
Secretary, Debating & Literary, Section Sri Kamarjyoti Deb
Editor, College MagazineSri Vedanta Kr Das
Secretary, GymnasiumSri Fazal Karim Shah (Boys) & Ms.Vandana Kasana (Girls)
Girls RepresentativeMs.Neeta Dutta
SpokespersonSri Plaban Nath Choudhury

Advisory Board

  • Patron: Principal-cum-Chief Superintendent
  • Staff President: Prof. Giridhari Kar


Besides its main activities for welfare of the students like education, career, living, recreation and any emergent situation, some other activities are:

  • Holding of Freshers Social for the New-Comers.
  • Celebration of Annual College Week for Sports and Cultural Activities.
  • Celebration of College Anniversary each year on the 15th August, the foundation day of the Silchar Medical College.
  • Participation in various other tournaments held outside the College and participation in 'PULSE' which is the Asia's Largest Medical College Festival held every year in the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (A.I.I.M.S.), New Delhi.
  • Publication of the Annual College Magazine, Wall Magazine etc.
  • Holding of Annual Inter-class Cricket Tournament.
  • Holding of Blood Donation Rally, Cleanliness Drives, Tree Plantation Drives, Health Check up Camps etc.
  • Celebrations of 'Saraswati Puja', the Goddess of Learning, New Year's Day, Tithi of Shri Shri Shankardeva, Netaji's Birthday etc.